Skip to content.
VIEW SITE IN te reo Māori


The Prime Minister's Education Excellence Awards showcase how New Zealand educators, leaders, governors and communities are working together to make life better for children and young people - socially, culturally and academically.

All entries will be judged on the extent to which they show improved and sustained outcomes for all children and young people that have been achieved through a change in practice.

Current awards status
Meet the winners

The Judging Process is shown below

Step 1

All entries received by the closing date will be processed to make sure they meet the eligibility criteria.

Step 2

An expert panel of New Zealand education leaders, academics and commentators will review the entries to identify the extent to which each case study shows:

  • Change that reflects best evidence of what works to improve outcomes for all children and young people;
  • The use of curriculum and strategies developed in New Zealand;
  • Clear improvement in outcomes for all children and young people - social, cultural and academic; and
  • That the improvements achieved are ongoing.
Up to four finalists will be identified in each category and the Education Focus prize from the accepted entries.

Step 3

A judging panel of respected New Zealanders who are leaders in their fields will visit the finalists to see the case studies in action and speak with all involved. This panel will decide each of the category winners, the prize winner and winner of the Prime Minister's Supreme Award.


Close modal